En Español

Provider Directory

At the end of 2014, Texas had a total of 559 Medicare certified dialysis facilities located in 121 of the 254 (47.6%) Texas counties. These facilities are concentrated in highly populated urban areas and in some border counties, in accordance with the population centers of the state. Harris County (Houston area) had the most facilities (n=101), Bexar County (San Antonio area) had the second highest number of facilities (n=48), and Dallas County (Dallas area) had the third highest number of facilities (n=47). When Tarrant County (Fort Worth area, n=42) is combined with Dallas County to encompass most of the DFW Metroplex with 89 facilities, the area did not exceed Harris County in 2014. The four counties combined made up 42.5 percent of all the certified units in 2013.

Twenty-three transplant centers and one special renal children’s camp were also in operation. Other non-Medicare certified dialysis facilities that operated in Texas in 2014 include two Veterans’ Affairs (VA) clinics, two military-based clinics, and two prison-based clinics.

As has been true for many years, the majority of facilities are owned by Large Dialysis Organizations (LDOs) (67%). LDO is defined by CMS as those owned by Fresenius Medical Care (FMC), DaVita (DVA), and Dialysis Clinic, Inc. (DCI). Regional and independent facilities make up 32 percent of Texas facilities.

Patient Count by Zip Code

Dialysis Facilities

The following lists all the dialysis facilities in ESRD Network 14.

View Dialysis Facilities

Transplant Facilities

The following lists all the transplant facilities in ESRD Network 14.

View Transplant Facilities