5-Diamond Patient Safety Program


In 2008, the Mid-Atlantic Renal Coalition (Network 5) and the ESRD Network of New England, Inc. (Network 1) developed the 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program as an innovative training and recognition program to assist dialysis providers in increasing awareness and building a culture of safety among patients and staff. Network 14 adapted this program in 2011 and used it as a Network specific Quality Improvement Project that has now expanded to include all Texas facilities interested in participating.

The program includes fifteen (15) training modules that focus on a wide variety of patient safety topics and include the tools and resources necessary for implementing each patient safety concept. These concepts presented in the program modules encourage staff and patient engagement in building cultures of safety at the dialysis unit, which is an essential component of the Network's mission and vision and contributes to achieving the Network's goals and objectives. The program is designed to educate facility staff and patients and encourage them to incorporate patient safety principles into treatments sessions every day.


Enrolling in the 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program

To enroll in the 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program, please register for an account on the 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program website. Only one account is allowed per facility.

5-Diamond Patient Safety Program

Once your facility applies to the program, you should first complete the mandatory Patient Safety Principles module. After completing this module, your facility may complete additional modules in any order. Each completed module submitted to the Network will result in a “diamond” for your facility. Upon successful completion of 5 modules, the Network encourages you to market your facility as a 5-Diamond Patient Safety Facility.

National 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program

The 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program, developed by Networks 5 and 1, is a national program endorsed by the American Nephrology Nurses’ Association (ANNA), the Renal Physicians’ Association (RPA), the National Renal Administrators’ Association (NRAA), Dialysis Clinic, Inc. (DCI), and the American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP).

5-Diamond Patient Safety Program Recognition

Network #14 is eager to celebrate those facilities that participate in the program and achieve diamond status. Facilities receive the following recognition for completion of the program modules:

  • Facilities will be recognized in Network newsletter NetLink (distributed to dialysis facilities and posted to the Network #14 website)*
  • Facilities will receive a certificate of completion for each module
  • Facilities will be recognized at the Network Annual Conference*

*Any facility wishing to be publicly recognized for its Diamond status must submit a “Permission for Public Acknowledgement” form to the Network, giving us permission to release the facility’s name. If your facility does not have one on file with the Network, you may download it below and submit it to Kathleen Prewitt via fax at 972-503-3219 or email at kprewitt@nw14.esrd.net.

Permission for Public Acknowledgement 

To see a list of participating units in Texas and their diamond statuses, please download the most recent edition of the Network’s monthly newsletter NetLink.

Contact Us

If you have questions about the 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program, please contact:

Kathleen Prewitt

Administrative Assistant
Phone: 469-916-3815
Fax: 972-503-3219
Email: kprewitt@nw14.esrd.net